Why do I have a blue light on my house this month?

I could light it up blue for the women in my support group, who have given me the gifts of laughter and strength.

I could light it up blue for the people I have met since my son’s autism diagnosis who are always there no matter what time zone they are in now.

I could light it up blue for my friends who have fought so hard for the appropriate educational placement for their child.

I could light it up blue for the children diagnosed this year and the thousands more to be diagnosed in the years to come.

I could light it up blue for the families who drive by my house so they know they aren’t alone.

But the most important reason I light it up blue?

I light it up blue for my family.

So I can show them that there are other families just like ours.

So they know that the stigma does not exist in our house.

So my boys know that what makes them different makes them special.

So their brother sees that we’re part of something global.

So he feels less alone.

So WE feel less alone.

On our first World Autism Awareness Day, we looked like this:

April 2, 2010

Then we looked like this:

boys in blue

April 2, 2011

And today we look like this:

April 2, 2012

I can see the progress in these pictures.  I can see the hard work and the tears and the love.

When we shine a blue light on our house, we are shining the light on those beautiful faces.

Light Up The World

I light it up blue for them.

Lay it all down
Got something to say
Lay it all down
Throw your doubt away
Do or die now
Step on to the plate
Blow the door wide open like up up and away

Let’s light up the world tonight
You gotta give up the bark and bite
I know that we got the love, alright
Come on and light it up

Light it up tonight” – Light Up The World from Glee (original song)