On  July 17,  2011, I wrote a post for Hopeful Parents titled “Reading Rainbow”:

I’m on a frantic search through the boys’ bookshelves.

My husband is reading a Frog and Toad story to our youngest, our two year old.  They are laughing together through the story.  My husband calls to me, asking where the other three Frog and Toad books are.  He knows we have them – we used to read them to our oldest son when he was two.

I’m looking everywhere but I can’t find them.

My eyes fill with tears as I realize that the books are probably packed away somewhere.  Buried in a box with all of the other stories that we tried to read to our middle son Howie.  Stories that he never showed any interest in.

Quietly I tell my husband that I can’t find them right now.  I turn away before he sees the tears…

All three of my boys have bookcases in their rooms.  Every shelf is filled.  I never say no in the bookstore.

My oldest and youngest have books strewn all over their bedroom floors.

My middle son – his books have been in the same place for…years.

I can’t remember the last time he took a book off his shelf and brought it to me to read.

We’ve tried.  He won’t sit for a story.  If I’m reading to his younger brother, he’ll come over to listen sometimes.  But he never initiates it.

When he was younger, he’d sit for a story with my husband.  They had two books that they would read, Hondo and Fabien and Night Driving, both by the same author.

But then things changed.  Was it that he couldn’t sit still for them anymore?  Or did his obsessions and sensory issues get in the way?  Is it the autism or did we get so busy with helping him with everything else that reading just fell by the wayside?

Snuggling in for a story is not part of his routine. He’s just not interested…

Still, I can’t help but hope for that day when my son takes a book off the shelf and says “would you read this to me?”

It’s that hope that keeps me on the hunt for those missing Frog and Toad books.

**********

On May 7, 2013 I sent Howie’s teacher an email.

My teacher appreciation gift…Howie wouldn’t go to bed tonight because he wanted to read “diary of a wimpy kid”.🙂

I never thought those would be words I would write.

Thank you for teaching him to love to read, to learn, and to appreciate the details.

Alysia

P.S. he may be a little tired tomorrow🙂

And I sent her this picture.  It’s where I found him while he was waiting for his turn for a shower.

photo(8)
And then this one in his bed that night.  Reading until 9:30pm:

photo(9)

My eyes filled with tears again.

And now I am back on the hunt for those still missing Frog and Toad books.

Butterfly in the sky
I can go twice as high
Take a look
It’s in a book
A Reading Rainbow
I can go anywhere
Friends to know
And ways to grow
A Reading Rainbow
I can be anything
Take a look
It’s in a book
A Reading Rainbow
A Reading Rainbow
” – Reading Rainbow TV Show Theme Song