Too good to be true?

Not this time.

I’ve never done a giveaway before, but I couldn’t say no to this one.

Last week I was contacted on behalf of Motorola Mobility to see if I would be interested in testing a Motorola Xoom tablet.  In addition, they would send me one to giveaway to one of my readers.  The Motorola Mobility Foundation partnered with Autism Speaks in San Diego and Chicago to help get tablets in the hands of families with children on the spectrum. And now, they were offering me the chance to put a Xoom in the hands of one of my readers.  No strings attached.

Knowing the incredible impact that this technology can have on kids like mine, there was no way I could say no.

I was very interested to see how the Xoom differed from the iPad, which has made such a difference in our lives in such a short amount of time.

I have to say it’s pretty cool.

Many of our favorite apps are available on the android platform, such as Angry Birds, Cut The Rope and Fruit Ninja.  Many of the Oceanhouse Media books that we like are available too.   The development process is different for the Android environment, so there are many apps that I’ve never see before.  My oldest was particularly impressed with the fact that it has Adobe Flash capability, so he was able to play Crush the Castle on the tablet.  I could easily access our Netflix account to watch movies, and the music store had lots of free and inexpensive songs to download.

The camera was also impressive.  I thought Gerry was taking a picture of me with it.  Instead, he was using the zoom function to take a picture up his nose:

Really? Up Your Nose?

I was able to take a quick look at some of the augmentative and alternative communication apps as well.  There are a few that are free to try, including Tap To Talk.  A quick Google search came up with this list of AAC Apps for Android, and there were quite a few.

There’s also a great list of Android apps for Autism here at http://www.nerd-news.com/2011/04/awesome-android-apps-for-autism.html.

My family was definitely excited to play around with the Xoom and to see all it could offer.  Here, they are trying out the Androidify yourself app.  Because, you know, that’s fun:

Want to look like the Android guy?

Should we put a parrot on his shoulder?

My youngest - Androidified

So now you really want one, don’t you?

Here are the rules:

In keeping with the spirit of Try Defying Gravity, I’d like to know how your child has “defied gravity” in your eyes.  Tell me a way in which he or she has exceeded your expectations or faced down adversity to rise above a challenge.

Think of the lyrics: “I’m through accepting limits/”cause someone says they’re so/Some things I cannot change/But till I try, I’ll never know!”

My kids amaze me every day with what they can do, even when they are told they can’t.  They are constantly reminding me of their strength and capacity for love and passion.  They hit the limits and knock them down, making sure I do the same.

Leave me a comment with your story.  Your comment will be your entry into the giveaway.

Here are more rules:

The contest is open to U.S. residents only. (sorry)

You must enter a valid e-mail address when you comment on the post, otherwise I can’t contact you.

Only one comment per person will count as an entry, but if you have many “Defying Gravity” moments to share, go ahead!

The comment must be made on this post.  Twitter and Facebook comments won’t count.

The giveaway runs from the time that this is posted until December 3rd, 2011 at midnight Eastern time.  I cannot accept any entries after that.

One winner will be chosen at random on Sunday December 4th 2011 and announced on my Facebook page that evening.

**********

It’s incredibly exciting to me that I can give this away to one of you.  I’m grateful to Motorola for giving me the opportunity to share this incredible technology with a deserving family.  I can’t wait to read all your stories.