Note: I asked Howie if I could share this story (and parts two and three) here.  I told him that I had a blog and that I liked to write about things that happen in our lives on it.  His response?  “Sure.  You can share this with the blogosphere.”  Well, okay then.

Second note:  While this is part one, the story actually comes after parts two and three chronologically.  But I felt like I had to share this one first.  I hope it makes sense in the long run.

I was finishing up at work tonight while Howie was playing on the iPad.  He was with me tonight as he is most nights that I’m at the sensory gym.

I closed up the computer and it made that whirring noise that laptops make as they wind down to hibernate.

“What’s that noise?” Howie asked.  “The one that sounds like…” and he mimicked the noise perfectly.

“Ah,” I said.  “That’s the computer shutting down.  You made that sound exactly right.”

I paused for a moment.

“You’ve always been good at that,” I told him.  “It’s all part of that amazing brain of yours.”

“It’s in my soul.” he said.

“What? What do you mean?”

“My gift.  It’s in my soul. It will always be a part of me.”

I stared at him from across the room.  He never looked up from his iPad the whole time.  But his words moved me to my core.

This incredible child of mine.  He knows what he has is special.  Different not less.

“You’ve had that gift since you were born you know,” I said.  “Like that song ‘Born This Way.”

He gave a little chuckle.  “Oh yeah.  It is like the song.”

And while maneuvering around his Minecraft world he quietly sang “You’re on the right track baby you were born this way.”

I walked over to him and gently kissed him on the cheek.

“I love you sweetie.  And that amazing brain of yours.”

A smile.

“Wanna see my minecart move on the tracks?”

Yes.  Yes I do.

holidaycard5

There’s nothin’ wrong with lovin’ who you are
She said, ’cause He made you perfect, babe
So hold your head up,
girl and you’ll go far
Listen to me when I say

I’m beautiful in my way
‘Cause God makes no mistakes
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born this way” – Born This Way by Lady Gaga

Parts Two and Three (which are really parts one and two) about how Howie learned about autism are coming soon…

