(One of two parts of a Father’s Day)

Because you are always there.

Because you see what I miss.

Because you haven’t missed a baseball practice.  Or game.  Or school show. Or IEP meeting.

Because you read the reports and read between the lines.

Because you enjoy being the “mystery reader”.

Because when I find only the negative, you show me the glass half full.

Because you understand what “he’s out of sorts” means and how to help.

Because you understand our kids in ways I can’t.

Because you get it.

And when I am done

and can’t read one more report, one more home log, one more email

or change one more diaper, fight one more clothing battle, listen to one more scream

167430_4214246881057_1005604546_n

You are there.

Not out of obligation.

But out of love.

Showing our kids what a dad should be.

And for that and eight million other reasons.

I love you.

Happy Father’s Day to the man who makes every day better.

You are the bearer of unconditional things
You held your breath and the door for me
Thanks for your patience

You’re the best listener that I’ve ever met
You’re my best friend
Best friend with benefits
What took me so long

You’ve already won me over in spite of me
And don’t be alarmed if I fall head over feet
Don’t be surprised if I love you for all that you are
I couldn’t help it
It’s all your fault” – Head Over Feet by Alanis Morisette

