Dentist appointment today for Howie.

Just the thought sends shivers through me.  Past appointments have gone very well (at this dentist anyway…we won’t talk about our previous dentist who refused to let me in the room with him, even when he was screaming and crying…moving on…) but you just never know, right?

I usually take the kids separately but this time I had Lewis with me too as an observer.

There were a million ways for this to go bad.

After a failed attempt at x-rays (again), the hygienist asked Howie to lie down so she could clean his teeth.

This had never been a problem spot in the past but for some reason today Howie refused.

I went into full alert knowing that at any moment we could be completely done here, which would mean completely done with the dentist for a long time.

“Can you sit him up a bit?  Howie, you need to lie down just a little longer so she can make your teeth sparkle. Want me to hold your hand?”

Howie sat up and looked at Lewis.

“I want Lewis to sit with me and hold my hand.”

And so…

IMG_20121212_104043

He did.

IMG_20121212_104221

Hold my hand
Want you to hold my hand
Hold my hand
Ill take you to a place where you can be
Hold my hand
Anything you wanna be because
I wanna love you the best that, the best that I can.” – Hold My Hand by Hootie and The Blowfish

