I went out to greet the mini-bus this afternoon.  Howie was returning home from his second day of his Extended School Year program.

I stepped up into the bus.  Mrs. S, the bus monitor, looked at me.

“I have to tell you…”

Gulp.  Waiting for shoe to drop.

“Howie has been doing an amazing job on the bus these past two days.  It’s awesome.”

Howie’s whole body puffed up with pride.  Mrs. S said it looked like he grew an inch in that very moment.

“Inside and out,” I said.

He came bouncing off the bus with a huge smile.

“Did that make you feel good when Mrs. S said that?” I asked.

“Yes.  It did.”

And then the smile got bigger.

When you’re smiling…

“Now take some silly ones of me!”

Who could say no?

“I’m going to move fast to make it blurry!”

“Now I’m a tiger!”

And we went happily into the house.

I’m not going to focus on the fact that his log sheet said he had a hard time at the program today and had to be removed.  And I’m not even going to think about the three times he hit his home therapist today because she asked him to clean up. In this moment…it’s just about that smile and the pride it represents.

And right now, that’s enough for me.

When you’re smiling
When you’re smiling
The whole world smiles with you

When you’re laughing
When you’re laughing
The sun comes shining through” – When You’re Smiling by Louis Armstrong

