alternately titled: Holy Crap!  My Kid Ate Salsa!

also alternately titled: I really needed to watch this tonight

Food issues?  Yeah, we have a few.

Howie’s difficulties with eating go WAY back – starting when he was nine months old and wouldn’t eat anything with chunks in it.  Stage 3 baby food?  Not happening.  Gagging and vomiting led to complete refusal of many foods.  Add in his intolerance to anything made with corn, and his diet was extremely limited almost from the start.

And he has a long institutional memory for all things that made him vomit.  He knows exactly when he gagged on a strawberry for the last time, and can tell me in great detail why a cracker made him puke (it was wet).

But we have a few go-to foods.  Pizza.  Crackers.  Granola bars. Cocoa Krispies.

Don’t judge.

A few weeks ago, Tim was sitting at the table, eating some chips and salsa.

And then words I never thought I’d hear.

“Can I have some salsa?”

Tim and I exchanged glances, figuring this would never fly.  The chunky tomatoes and peppers.  The spices.  The dipping of the chip into the salsa.

We gave him a bowl of corn-free veggie chips and some salsa.

Yup.  Miracles can happen. Three bowls of salsa and 40 chips later I’m a believer.

Because holy crap, my kid ate salsa.

Food, glorious food!
Hot sausage and mustard!
While we’re in the mood —
Cold jelly and custard!
Pease pudding and saveloys!
What next is the question?
Rich gentlemen have it, boys –
In-di-gestion!” – Food Glorious Food from Oliver