Perhaps I’m hiding my head in the sand.

I don’t want to debate why the new CDC autism numbers are where they are. I don’t want our community to fracture even more in the discussion of environmental vs genetics vs better diagnosis vs new classification.

I just want my sons’ teachers to understand how their brains work so they can learn better.

I just want my sons and their peers to grow up knowing that autism is not something to fear and that they can be friends.

I want the numbers to stand for more than debate.

I want them to promote change in our school systems and our insurance laws and our mental health services.

The 1 in 88 children. The 1 in 54 boys. My two.

My Facebook newsfeed is full of arguments about the “why”.

I want to see the “now what.”

“What about now?
What about today?
What if you’re making me all that I was meant to be?
What if our love never went away?
What if it’s lost behind words we could never find?
Baby, before it’s too late
What about now?” – What About Now? by Daughtry

