It was an Oxygen Mask trip of a different kind.

My brother and sister-in-law had a brand new baby. They live in Arizona. I wanted to – NEEDED to – visit them.

A much needed getaway for me.

And I took Gerry. A much needed getaway for him too.

Just the two of us.

Pushing aside my maternal guilt and anxiety of leaving the other two with Tim, Gerry and I hopped on a plane last Friday and spent the weekend together.

Just us.

We ate what we wanted.  We watched The Muppet Movie.  We drank too much Sprite and overdosed on Twizzlers.

We talked.

My brother took him to hit golf balls and they played catch.  And they talked.

He smiled more than I have ever seen him smile.

It’s not the answer to everything.  But for one weekend, it was just about us.

Some breathing room for us both.

“I’d fly above the trees
Over the seas in all degrees
To anywhere I please

Oh I want to get away
I want to fly away
Yeah yeah yeah” – Fly Away by Lenny Kravitz

