December 26, 2011

Dear Mr. President,

Hi! My name is Gerry* and I am nine years old. I have a recommendation of lighting the White House blue at Autism Awareness month next year. The White House is not one of the many famous landmarks that has been lit blue in April. I say this because my brother is autistic,  and it made me feel great to see all those buildings lit blue, because blue is the autism color. I made a model of the White House from a Lego set I got from Hanukkah. I put blue pieces on it to show what it might look like:

Light It Up Blue

The White House...in blue

This was just a recommendation.

Sincerely yours,

Gerry

**********

It’s time to start thinking about this again.  Last year, my friend Jess at Diary of a Mom got a grassroots campaign going to encourage the President to “Light It Up Blue” on Autism Awareness Day in April.  He said no.

We’re saying “wrong answer”.

Mr. President, make this year the year you turn the White House blue.  For my two sons with autism.  For their brother who loves them so much.  For the thousands of families who ride the autism rollercoaster every single day.

One day.  One bulb.

How can you say no to this face?

I can light it blue, can you?

I worked all afternoon on it.

*name changed for the blog, but the letter is in the mail to the President for tomorrow.

 
“Hail to the Chief we have chosen for the nation,
Hail to the Chief! We salute him, one and all.
Hail to the Chief, as we pledge cooperation
In proud fulfillment of a great, noble call.
Yours is the aim to make this grand country grander,
This you will do, that’s our strong, firm belief.
Hail to the one we selected as commander,
Hail to the President! Hail to the Chief!” – Hail to the Chief  by Albert Gamse
