As you might have noticed, I don’t write much about my relationship with my husband.  I share a lot here – maybe too much sometimes – but my goal is to write about my kids and my family as a whole.  Of course, I write about what an amazing father and partner he is and I seriously have no idea how I’d get through the day without him in my corner.  But my marriage itself is something I try to keep private, just between the two of us.

But…

Today is our ninth wedding anniversary.

And I feel compelled to say simply this:

When we scrambled to write our vows the morning of our wedding, I never realized how one phrase would continue to ring true for me.  On that chilly October day, I told him that I loved how he “made me laugh when I wanted to cry.”

At the time I was talking about the loss of my father.

Now it’s about our daily struggles as a family.

A true partner knows just what to say when you need them to say it.  To create perspective.  To see the joy when all you can see is the pain.  And loves you even on the days when you don’t love yourself.  I am lucky enough to have that a million times over.

I know the statistics aren’t on our side.  But I think the title of this post says it all.

Anyway, I found out I’m nothing without you
Cuz we belong together now
Forever united here somehow
You got a piece of me
And honestly
My life would suck without you
” – My Life Would Suck Without You by Kelly Clarkson

