I am getting ready to get “Gleeky”.

Yes, that’s right.  This weekend I’m going to New York City to see the cast of “Glee” perform at Radio City Music Hall.  Jealous?  I thought so.

People who know me know how much I love music and musicals especially.  I grew up listening to the soundtracks from such Broadway plays as “Fiddler on the Roof”, “Jesus Christ Superstar”, and “Grease”.  I could sing every line from every song and act out every scene from each play.  There’s something about a musical that just sucks me in – the incredible ability to use music to tell a story and send a message home.   I think that’s why the show “Glee” has really struck a chord with me (no pun intended).

This trip to New York City marks the first time I’m leaving all three boys for longer than 2 hours.  My friend and I are taking the train there in the morning, going to the concert, and then taking the train back up again that night.  In total, I will be gone about 19 hours.  I’ve asked my mother to come down to help out for the day, not because I don’t think Tim can handle being alone with the boys, but I know how nice it is to have an extra pair of hands around.  Having her come visit was more for my piece of mind –  knowing that another person is there in case something happens just makes me feel better about being gone for the day.

I’ve been spending the past few days doing laundry, grocery shopping, and making lists for Tim and my mom about the day.  When you have a kid like Howie, keeping a routine is so important.  I need them to know what to do when he gets upset and is looking for me for a hug.  I need them to look for signs that he needs a break, or a snack, or some exercise.  I want to make sure I have the right foods in the house for them, pajamas all laid out – anything I can do to make it easier for those 19 hours.

It’s all so I can enjoy myself without worrying that things are a mess at home.  This trip is a treat for me – those 19 hours are all MINE.  I need time to be without the kids, and the kids need time to be without me.  I need to be able to be… just  me and not Mom.  I can’t wait to eat when I want, eat what I want, and go to the bathroom alone.  I can’t wait to sit in the balcony of Radio City Music Hall and sing my heart out along with Lea Michele, Cory Monteith, and the other cast members from the show.  And, after those 19 hours,  I’ll be ready to get home refreshed and be a better mom to my kids (with a little Glee in my heart).

(a special thanks to my fellow uber-fan Nikki for getting the tickets and going with me on this adventure, and to my amazing husband Tim for giving me this trip and all my Glee CDs as a Mother’s Day present and for indulging my Glee addiction every Tuesday night…as the Glee kids would say “My Life Would Suck Without U”.)

Don’t tell me not to live,
Just sit and putter,
Life’s candy and the sun’s
A ball of butter.
Don’t bring around a cloud
To rain on my parade
!” – from the musical “Funny Girl”

